Share this post

Diane’s Royalties for Regions Amendment Bill 2019 will be brought on for debate this week in the Legislative Council of Western Australia. The purpose of this Bill is to amend the Royalties for Regions Act 2009 to ensure that environmental purposes are adequately reflected in Royalties for Regions funding.

This Bill provides a simple mechanism by which Western Australians can be sure that there is adequate provision for environmental programs in our regional communities by seeking to allocate 10 per cent of Royalties for Regions funding to Natural Resource Management groupsbut it needs your support. 

You cannot have vibrant regions and strong economies without a healthy environment and biodiversity, and nvestment in the environment is vital for regional communities, especially for the NRM groups that administer environmental programs.

If you agree that Royalties for Regions needs reform to promote and facilitate environmental programs and spending, please contact your Upper House member and encourage them to support this Bill by sending them the letter below, amended as appropriate.

Dear Dr Talbot/Dr Thomas/Ms Farina/Mr Tincknell/Mr Holt,

I would like to bring it to your attention that the Hon. Diane Evers’s Royalties for Regions Amendment Bill, seeking to allocate 10 per cent of Royalties for Regions funding to Natural Resource Management (NRM) groups, will be discussed in the Legislative Council this coming Thursday, March 19. 

Investment in the environment is vital for regional communities, especially for the NRM groups that administer environmental programs. Environmental spending now will deliver intergenerational benefits, ensuring that industries such as agriculture and tourism can be sustainable, and our incredible biodiversity and nature is able to be enjoyed into the future. NRM groups can make a small amount of funding go a long way, but it is so important that they have certainty and stability – a strong foundation for their incredible work in regional communities.

To date, Royalties for Regions funding has focussed overwhelmingly on business and economic investment whilst leaving the environment to fight for funding from consolidated revenue. This Bill will ensure the resourcing of organisations that are committed to preserving our natural wealth is secure. 

I encourage you to support Ms Evers’ Bill in your role as a member of the Legislative Council and ensure more is done to protect the integral work regional NRM groups do to care for our environment.

Yours faithfully,

XXX

Region – South West

Hon. Adele Farina MLC
Email: southwesteo@mp.wa.gov.au
Ph: (08) 9721 1165

Hon. Colin James Holt MLC
Email: colin.holt@mp.wa.gov.au
Ph: (08) 9724 1181

Hon. Dr Sally Elizabeth Talbot MLC
Email: sally.talbot@mp.wa.gov.au
Ph: (08) 9725 3711

Hon. Dr Steven (Steve) Caldwell Thomas MLC
Email: steve.thomas@mp.wa.gov.au
Ph: (08) 9757 9555

Hon. Colin Richard Tincknell MLC
Email: colin.tincknell.mlc@mp.wa.gov.au
Ph: (08) 9486 8106

Region – Mining and Pastoral

Hon. Jacqui Ellen Boydell MLC
Email: jacqui.boydell@mp.wa.gov.au
Ph: (08) 9144 4187

Hon. Stephen Noel Dawson
Email: minister.dawson@dpc.wa.gov.au
Ph: (08) 6552 5800

Hon. Kyle Owen McGinn MLC
Email: miningpastoral.mcginn@mp.wa.gov.au
Ph: (08) 9022 7003

Hon. Robin David Scott MLC
Email: robin.scott@mp.wa.gov.au
Ph: (08) 9093 1455

Hon. Kenneth (Ken) Charles Baston
Email: ken.baston@mp.wa.gov.au
Ph: (08) 9193 7044

Region – Agriculture

Hon. Martin Aldridge MLC
Email: martin.aldridge@mp.wa.gov.au
Ph: (08) 9576 0141

Hon. James (Jim) Edward Chown MLC
Email: jim.chown@mp.wa.gov.au
Ph: (08) 9481 0082

Hon. Colin Stephen de Grussa MLC
Email: colin.degrussa@mp.wa.gov.au
Ph: (08) 9921 4818

Hon. Laurie William Graham MLC
Email: laurie.graham@mp.wa.gov.au
Ph: (08) 9621 1999

Hon. Ricky (Rick) John Mazza
Email: rick.mazza@mp.wa.gov.au
Ph: (08) 9481 6070

Hon. Darren Legh West MLC
Email: darren.west.mp@mp.wa.gov.au
Ph: (08) 9964 1001

Share this post